Now Reading:
New Zealand bat in final ODI; Amir rested
Full Article 2 minutes read

New Zealand bat in final ODI; Amir rested

Toss: New Zealand chose to bat v Pakistan

In the final ODI of the series, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bat first, putting it down to playing on the same surface that the first ODI was played on.

When asked whether the prospect of a whitewash provided extra motivation, Williamson said: “I don’t think we need any more motivation. It’s important we try and improve on our performance in the fourth ODI where we weren’t as smart as we could have been.”

Sarfraz confirmed he wanted to bat first too, but was confident of Pakistan’s chances for the final ODI. “We had some good performances in the fourth game, just one great performance from Colin de Grandhomme took the game away from us.”

Pakistan made three changes to the side, with Shoaib Malik, who was concussed after being hit on the head by a cricket ball in the previous game was excluded. Hasan Ali picked up a groin strain, while Mohammad Amir was rested. Umar Amin, Aamer Yamin, and Mohammad Nawaz were included.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Henry Nicholls, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Colin de Grandhomme, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Matt Henry

Pakistan: 1 Umar Amin, 2 Fakhar Zaman, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Mohammad Hafeez, 5 Haris Sohail, 6 Sarfraz Ahmed (capt, wk), 7 Faheem Ashraf, 8 Shadab Khan, 9 Aamer Yamin, 10 Mohammad Nawaz, 11 Rumman Raees

Input your search keywords and press Enter.
%d bloggers like this: